10 Ways to Wellness

Greetings fellow Wellness seekers! I am excited to be preparing my first blog after the launch of our official SYNCWellness Blog site. It appears that in addition to all the great things on the horizon at our studio, this will be my new virtual home so I decided it is time to get settled in and give you an idea as to what is in store.

I have been thinking about how best to utilize this space and your time, in order to bring you meaningful information about Wellness, and hopefully keep you coming back for more. I have several blogs I follow regularly, and the common threads that I have come to appreciate is that they offer authentic and unique perspectives, they are based in some kind of truth or evidence, and they provide something tangible and useful to the reader. It is my intention to utilize this opportunity to provide the same to you.

We all know we can pick-up any health and fitness magazine and get tips about what to eat, how often to eat, and the latest workout crazes. For those of us that follow these things closely, you also know that the “science” behind nutrition, healthy weight, and disease prevention is ever changing, and often even contradictory.  Rather than regurgitate recipes for the latest longevity enhancing green drink (although I do have a delicious green smoothie recipe to share), I’d like to explore the next level of health and wellness. The motivations behind why we engage in healthy or unhealthy behaviors. What our unique and motivating vision of optimal health looks like for each of us, and discuss tools and strategies to make lasting changes in our lives to truly achieve wellness in every aspect of our lives – mind, body, and spirit.

The inspiration for 101 Ways to Wellness comes from one of my favorite blogs: 101 Cookbooks by Heidi Swanson (www.101cookbooks.com). The premise of her site is: “When you own over 100 cookbooks, it is time to stop buying, and start cooking.” Whereas I do not own a single cookbook (thanks to great recipe websites), I do own at least 100 books on wellness, nutrition, spirituality, and optimizing every aspect of your life – everything from finding a fulfilling career to achieving financial abundance to strengthening key relationships. In one of my latest organizing frenzies, I decided to group all my books into different categories and stack them in clear boxes in plain site, and it struck me that instead of taking the time to put into practice many of the pivotal concepts I have gleaned from all my readings, I instead use my time to keep buying and reading more books.

With that in mind, I have decided that instead of continuing to grow my collection (or at least with an intention to slow the growth rate) I will use this blog to share with you my favorite nuggets of wisdom across all the key dimensions of health and wellness, distilled down from the thousands of pages of best-selling and life changing prose that sit stacked before me.  My hope is to be able to write about the intersection of these principles as they are applied and examined in my daily life, and I would love to engage in dialogue about how they apply and are received in your lives.

Stay tuned for the first installment of 10 Ways to Wellness coming next week. I have just started the latest book by Geneen Roth, “Women, Food, and God” and was reminded of how powerful her concepts are for those of us looking beyond the quick fixes around struggles of food, weight, and health (and there is much that applies to both Men and Women). I was introduced to Geneen ten years ago during my own struggle with disordered eating, and am excited to reacquaint myself with her core principles, explore and better understand their meaning, and share it all with you!

Here is a quick intro to what we will explore from Geneen’s perspective:

Geneen believes that we eat the way we live, and that our relationship to food, money, love is an exact reflection of our deepest held beliefs about ourselves and the amount of joy, abundance, pain, scarcity, we believe we have (or are allowed) to have in our lives. Rather than pushing away the “crazy” things we do, Geneen’s work proceeds with the conviction that our actions and beliefs make exquisite sense, and that the way to transform our relationship with food is to be open, curious and kind with ourselves-instead of punishing, impatient and harsh. She has worked with hundreds of thousands of people using meditation, inquiry, and a set of seven eating guidelines that are the foundation of natural eating.

I am looking forward to beginning this journey with all of you, and welcome your feedback and input on ideas and concepts of interest to you. You may post comments on this site or contact me directly at Julie@syncstudio.net

Leave a comment

Filed under 10 Ways to Wellness

Leave a Reply

