EIGHT: Spiritual Laws to Success

101 Ways to Wellness

Eight: Spiritual Laws to Success

I feel like the universe has been conspiring lately to remind me about the importance of my connection to something larger than myself as I move through my daily life. If you are anything like me, you might be able to relate to feeling totally caught up (or bogged down) in the details of life– when and how much to exercise, what to eat, how to balance work, school, and family, and on and on. When life throws a few extra things on our plates, this sometimes can turn the normal grind into a head spinning tailspin, which is when I personally must reach out and grasp for some kind of meaning outside my little sphere in which I am operating.

I have read many great spiritual teachers over the years, but one of the most influential and mainstream (meaning one who writes very practically for the reality of most everyday lives) is Deepak Chopra. He has many books, but one that is both small and profound is the “The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success.” This week I will share Chopra’s overview of these seven laws, and encourage you to read the book to experience the power of his writing in it’s fullness.

Law 1- Pure Potentiality: This law is based on the idea that at our core we each possess endless possibilities and infinite creativity. When you discover your essential nature and know who you really are, there is the ability to fulfill any dream or reach any goal. Ways to access this state include spending time in nature as well as a daily practice of silence, meditation and mindful awareness.

Law 2- Giving: The best way to put The Law of Giving into operation is to make a decision that any time you come into contact with anyone, you will give them something. It doesn’t have to be in the form of material things; it could be a flower, a compliment or a prayer. In fact, the most powerful forms of giving are non-material. The gifts of caring, attention, affection, appreciation and love are some of the most precious gifts you can give, and they don’t cost you anything.

Law 3- Karma: There is nothing unfamiliar about the Law of Karma. Everyone had heard the expression, “What you sow is what you reap.” Obviously, if we want to create happiness in our lives, we must learn to sow the seeds of happiness. Therefore, karma implies the action of conscious choice-making. Whether you like it or not, everything that is happening at this moment is a result of the choices you’ve made in the past. Unfortunately, a lot of us make choices unconsciously, and therefore we don’t think they are choices–and yet, they are. If you step back for a moment and witness the choices you are making as you make those choices, then in just this act of mindfulness you can shift from the unconscious into the conscious realm.

Law 4- Least Effort: There are three components to the Law of Least Effort–three things you can do to put this principle of “do less and accomplish more” into action. The first component is acceptance. Acceptance simply means that you make a commitment: “Today I will accept people, situations, circumstances and events as they occur.” The second component is responsibility. This means not blaming anyone or anything for your situation, including yourself. The third component to the Law of Least Effort is defenselessness. This means that you have released the need to convince or persuade others of your point of view. If you relinquish this need you will in that relinquishment gain access to enormous amounts of energy that have been previously wasted.

Law 5- Intention and Desire: This law is based on the premise that one can consciously change the energy and informational content of themselves, and therefore influence the energy and informational content of their environment and cause things to manifest in it.  Intention lays the groundwork for the effortless, spontaneous, flow of one’s greatest potential, and Chopra cautions that those intentions be used for the benefit of others as well as self.

Law 6- Detachment: This law says that in order to acquire anything, you have to relinquish your attachment to it, or more specifically you give up your attachment to the result. Chopra asserts that anything you want can be acquired through detachment, because detachment is based on the unquestioning belief in the power of your true Self.

Law 7- Dharma: Dharma is a Sanskrit word that means “purpose in life.” There are three components to the Law of Dharma. The first says that each of us is here to discover our true Self; the second component is to express our unique talents; and the third component is service to humanity. When you combine the ability to express your unique talent with service to humanity, then you will achieve your fullest expression of the unique gifts you have to share with and help serve others.

From wellness coach Julie Marks, Phd.

Leave a comment

Filed under 10 Ways to Wellness

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s