[Meet Jim]

Jim might be the new kid on the block, but his roots with SYNC go way back!  We’re elated that he’s officially part of the SYNCCYCLING™ team, and we hope you get a chance to check out one of his classes.

Any projects you are working on right now?

I actually have two things going on right now I’m pretty excited about.  The first is that I am co-stage managing an upcoming play called Richie – a modern/alternate universe interpretation of Shakespeare’s Richard II focused on the “royalty” of celebrity rather than of kings and queens.  It’s going to be funky and highly entertaining.  It’s a promenade piece, meaning that the performance will be played out over several different locations in downtown Durham (15 in all, most of which are bars, restaurants and other watering holes).  You can find out more about that at littlegreenpig.com.  The other cool side project is that I have been asked to co-write a script for a video game based on a female comic book character of some repute.  That’s really all I can say about that one for now, but it should be awesome.

What are you listening to in your car right now?

NPR.  This may sound odd to most people, but since I’ve become an instructor at the Studio I hardly ever listen to music over the radio.  If not NPR, I’m listening to my current playlist or candidates for my next playlist on Spotify.

Favorite song to dance alone to?

I’ll never tell!

Favorite place you have traveled to?  Place you want to travel to next?

Ireland.  I took my mom there a few years ago.  She always wanted to go see “the Motherland” (yep, I’m Irish), and it really was as green and lush and beautiful as you would imagine it to be.  We were lucky, too, in that it was unseasonably warm and sunny for the whole trip.  For my next trip, I feel the pull towards coastal California.

Favorite SYNCCYCLING™ move?

Travel.  It’s hard to beat the classics.

Favorite place in Durham?

Fullsteam Brewery

Favorite place in Raleigh?

It’s a tie between Cafe Helios and Hayes Barton Cafe

Top 3 Favorite movies?

This is really tough!  I can’t say these are my three absolute favorites, because I have so many, but I love It Happened One NightHeat and The Shawshank Redemption.

If you could make a movie, what would it be about and who would the lead roles be played by?

It would be a period piece murder mystery taking place on a great estate in 18th century England.  All of my friends from SYNCSTUDIO would be in the cast.  Ashley would be the mysterious lady of the house who is found dead in Act I.  Matty, Kyle, Cathy, Laurissa and Leigh Ann would definitely all be suspects.  I would wish to either play the super sleuth who solves the crime, or the sweet friendly one with a dark secret that you never-saw-coming as the murderer.  Ha!

What is the best dish you can cook?

I confess little talent in this area.  But I do make a pretty good lasagna.

Best moment in this year’s Olympics?

The men’s 4×100 relay finals was the most thrilling thing I saw.  The speed and grace of the athletes takes your breath away.

Leave a comment

Filed under SYNCSTUDIO, [Meet SYNC]

Leave a Reply

