From Fit to Corporate and Back: Cathy’s Story

My road to personal training started early.  I have always been involved in sports- from elementary school through college.  I always thought I would coach basketball or something.  I really enjoyed teaching others about sports and showing how much fun one could have doing physical activities.  I played team sports through high school and ran club track at UNC.  While taking one of the mandatory undergrad PE classes, I helped my instructor teach our volleyball class.

 

I graduated with degrees in Exercise & Sports Science and Psychology, but I needed a JOB asap.  I took a position with a local bank.  I had been a seasonal teller during college back home, so I had relevant experience.  All of a sudden I found myself in the “corporate world” working hard during the week without any routine for exercise.  I wasn’t making the time for it.  I would go for a run after work sometimes, but that was it.  I was definitely more concerned with what song I could run to rather that the quality physical activity I was getting (I was not getting it.)  How could I forget so quickly everything I learned in college?

 

Fast forward 4 years and I had HAD it (officially) with a seemingly unfulfilling 9-5 job in banking.  I quit and went back to school as a refresher before getting certified as a personal trainer.

 

As a single gal, living alone, I thought to myself that I needed to be STRONG.  I thought back to the times when my dad made me and my siblings carry him to safety while he pretended to be unconscious.  (That’s not weird, right?)  I thought about my new Vespa and how I need to be able to lift that thing off of me (nearly 500lbs) in the event of an emergency.  That is when I realized that running wasn’t going to cut it and I needed to lift weights.  I also needed to make time for this in my life, and make it a priority to reach my strength goals.

 

I chose a PT cert program that would give me hands-on training experience, and a thorough refresher of everything I studied in college.  This program also allowed me to set and reach a number of physical goals for myself- including doing 11 unassisted pull-ups in a row, woop woop!

 

I started taking on PT clients and leading small-group sessions in early 2009.  I started working as a trainer at SYNCSTUDIO in the summer of 2010.  I love having fun while torturing working out my clients.  I love seeing them meet their goals, and make gains in their physical capabilities. And I LOVE it when it becomes a habit and part of their healthy lifestyle.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

